Hail the Sun

Hail the Sun is an American post-hardcore band based in Chico, California. Formed in 2009, the band consists of lead vocalist and drummer Donovan Melero, lead guitarist Shane Gann, rhythm guitarist Aric Garcia, and bass guitarist John Stirrat. The band first released their debut studio album, POW! Right In the Kisser! (2010), and EP, Elephantitis (2012), independently. In 2014, they signed to Blue Swan Records and released their sophomore studio album, Wake. In 2016, the band departed from the label, signing to Equal Vision Records and releasing their third studio album, Culture Scars on June 17, 2016.

Originating in Chico, California, members Donovan Melero, Shane Gann, Aric Garcia, and John Stirrat formed Hail the Sun in 2009 whilst in college. They wrote and recorded their debut full-length studio album, POW! Right In the Kisser!, over the course of three months, which was released on May 21, 2010.

In 2012, the band released the EP album, Elephantitis, on July 3, 2012. The creative process was heavily influcened by other post-hardcore musical groups The Fall of Troy and Hot Cross, and was dubbed „a sort of paradigm shift in the way post-hardcore can be played, combining a progressive hammer-on-pull-off heavy style of guitar playing and more free range drumming with a huge decrease in riffage, conventional time signatures and simplistic song structures resulted in a spastic, technically savvy sound which fit right in with the high energy mood and feel post-hardcore was known for.“ After three years of extensive touring, the band became acquainted with Sacramento, California-based post-hardcore band Dance Gavin Dance, eventually signing to Will Swan’s independent record label Blue Swan Records. Hail the Sun released their sophomore studio album, Wake, on September 23, 2014 through the label, to critical acclaim.

Throughout 2014 and 2015, Hail the Sun toured extensively on respective tours from I the Mighty, Too Close to Touch, Dance Gavin Dance, A Lot Like Birds, The Ongoing Concept, Stolas, Polyphia, Our Last Night, Palisades, among several others. On December 3, 2015, it was revealed that the group had parted ways with Blue Swan Records and signed with record label Equal Vision Records, releasing a new demo version of the song, „Paranoia“. On March 25, 2016, the band released the official version of the single, „Paranoia“. On April 27, it was announced that Hail the Sun was set to release their third studio album, Culture Scars, on June 17, 2016. The band is touring on the 2016 Vans Warped Tour.

Speaking about the band’s third album, Culture Scars, guitarist Shane Gann said „Culture Scars is a term we came up with to refer to those scars, both physical and emotional, that come about due to certain things that society deems as normal and acceptable. We don’t normally put much thought into the amount of pain that may be caused by dirty politics, found within a family with a ‚problem child‘, or existing behind the scenes of an adult entertainment shoot. These themes are so commonplace in the world, and yet there is often so much trauma and hurt that is brought about by all these scenarios. We wanted to shed some light on the darker side of what we think of as normalcy.“

Donovan Melero’s vocal style has been often compared to that of recording artist Anthony Green of Circa Survive and Saosin’s vocal style. Hail the Sun has been labelled as a post-hardcore band using elements of screamo, progressive rock, and math rock in its music.